Sunday, October 26, 2008

Russia (RU) Partial Summary

Russia (RU) has an area of 17 075 400 km² and a population of 145 166 731 (2002 census). Russia is divided into 83 federal subjects with various titles. The most common, oblast' (область), is considered here to correspond to "province" in English. The federal subjects are organized into seven federal regions, some of which are not yet treated here:

Siberia Federal Region (5 114 800 km², population 20 062 938)

Altay Kray, Altay Republic, Buryatia Republic, Irkutsk Province, Khakasia Republic, Krasnoyarsk Kray, Novosibirsk Province, Omsk Province, Tyva Republic, Zabaykal'skiy Kray.

No comments: