Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Afghanistan (AF) Summary

Afghanistan (AF) has no major boundary disputes, although its border with Pakistan is considered not to be final. Its area is 647 500 km² and its population was about 23 million (2004 estimate) at the approximate time of the satellite images.

There are 9 entries in the world atlas for Afghanistan (PK), which correspond to statistical divisions made up of multiple provinces. They are enumerated below, with links. Populations in Afghanistan (AF) are poorly known because the last census was in 1979. A census, initially scheduled for 2003, has been postponed to July 2008 due to poor security conditions in the country.

Afghanistan has 34 provinces, which are divided into 371 districts.

Kabul: Kabul, Kapisa, Panjshir, and Parvan.
Jalalabad: Kunar, Laghman, Nangarhar, and Nurestan.
Ghazni: Ghazni, Khost, Lowgar, Paktia, Paktika, and Vardak.
Kandahar: Farah, Helmand, Kandahar, Nimruz, Oruzgan, and Zabol.
Hazarajat: Bamian and Daikondi.
Herat: Herat, Ghowr, and Badghis.
Mazar-e Sharif: Balkh, Faryab, Jowzjan, Samangan, and Sar-e Pol.
Qonduz: Baghlan and Qonduz.
Taloqan: Badakhshan and Takhar.

No comments: