Saturday, July 5, 2008

Kyrgyzstan (KG) Summary

Kyrgyzstan (KG) has an area of 199 900 km² and its population is about 4 822 938 (1999 census).

There are 7 entries in the world atlas for Kyrgyzstan (TM), which correspond to the provinces, except that Osh city and province and Bishkek city and the surrounding Chui Province are combined. They are enumerated below, with links.

Many names in this section are derived from Soviet maps. These are given with the notation (R) to indicate the source language is Russian. These names may not be correct in Kyrgyz and many have been changed after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

No comments: